top of page

The Most Brilliant Kitchen Cleaning Hacks

Have you ever tried a "cleaning hack" and it didn't actually work? Yeah, me too. But these I've actually tried in both my RV kitchen and my vintage kitchen at the cottage.


Let’s face it friends, if you’re going to spend time cleaning your kitchen, you actually want to have something to show for your efforts, right!? Well I can attest here that these are my tried-and-true cleaning hacks that work for both your RV kitchen and your regular home kitchen!


My RV (and home!) Kitchen Cleaning Hacks:


1. Coffee and Tea Stains in Your Sink and on Cups - I always turn to good 'ole Arm & Hammer Baking Soda. I buy the value-sized box because I also double up my usage of baking soda in my laundry, trash can deodorizing, and bathroom cleaning!

When you are cooking in your tiny RV kitchen, and we don't have a proper garbage disposal, all the gross smelly stuff goes down your drain into the holding tanks. Therefore, it makes sense that it’ll start to smell eventually and the baking soda really does the trick here too!



2. Clean Green with Lemons - I always try to stick to natural and organic cleaning supplies. So growing my own lemons is not only a food source, but it is a cleaning source too! Lemons have many household purposes.


  • Lemons for Microwave Cleaning: Pour 1/2 cup of water into a measuring cup or bowl. Slice the lemon in half and squeeze the juice into the water. Drop the lemon halves into the bowl. Place the bowl in the microwave and nuke on high power for three minutes so the liquid comes to a boil. Let stand for five minutes. Do NOT open the microwave door; the steam trapped inside will help loosen food gunk. Once that timer buzzes, then you can wipe it down with a sustainable cloth!

  • Lemons for a Fresh Refrigerator: This one combines with my Cleaning Hack #1 above. Pour 2 spoons of baking soda into a glass dish, then squirt about 1 tsp of lemon juice and grate some lemon zest into the baking soda for a fresh smelling mix. This will keep your RV and home fridge smelling fresh, and tips for getting and keeping the funk out for good!

3. Clean Your InstaPot - I love quick and easy meals while camping in the RV or at my cottage home. After you've tried some of my Instant Pot Soup recipes here, you'll need to clean your InstaPot! Here's how:


  • Pour 4 cups of water with 3 tablespoons of baking soda in the base of the inner pot.

  • Secure the lid and pressure cook for 5 minutes.

  • Let the pressure release naturally.

  • Remove the inner pot and wash it with soap and water.


What are your favorite cleaning hacks to use? Share in the comments below!


 







melisa kennedy bmk publishing ufo woman plains cottage romance

SHE'S A DREAMER, AN AUTHOR, COTTAGE CORE LOVER, AND A ROMANTIC AT HEART...

​

Melisa Kennedy is the author and founder of Plains Cottage.  She hopes to "Paint Plains Pink" with her enchanted vision.

bmkpublishingusa.com.png
melisa kennedy signature plains cottage
3A4B49BF-0F16-4FC9-A666-6B2FD7E5FC59.JPG
Plains Cottage georgia melisa kennedy
bottom of page