top of page

A Kennedy Family Tradition

Updated: Feb 7, 2021

We celebrate Christmas a out around our house. My daughter and I like to stick to my grandmother's old tradition of staying home and baking gingerbread cookies while we get all dressed up in our fancy aprons.


My daughter is in charge of decorating the cookies, and she doesn't take that job lightly (we end up with a beautiful assortment of colors and designs!). And I of course, I don’t take making the heavenly dessert lightly, so that's us and that's how we do Christmas cookies!


I'm going to share my Mamaw's Gingerbread Cookie recipe with you that has been used in my family for 50 years. But before I do, enjoy this photo of me and my daughter (and my mom photo bombing in the background, lol).



Mamaw's Gingerbread Cookie Recipe:


1/2 cup shortening

1/2 cup sugar

1/2 cup good molasses (We always use non-GMO Briar Rabbit brand)

1 beaten egg

3 cups flour

1/4 teaspoon salt

1 tablespoon cinnamon

1 tablespoon ground ginger

1 tablespoon allspice

1 tablespoon nutmeg


  1. Bring shortening, sugar, molasses, and vinegar to a boil in saucepan. Cool down and add beaten egg slowly.

  2. Add dry ingredients and mix well.

  3. Refrigerate for 4 hours or overnight.

  4. Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

  5. Roll out cookie dough on floured surface. Use cookie cutters to make fun shapes.

  6. Bake for 11-13 minutes.



Recent Posts

See All
melisa kennedy bmk publishing ufo woman plains cottage romance

SHE'S A DREAMER, AN AUTHOR, COTTAGE CORE LOVER, AND A ROMANTIC AT HEART...

​

Melisa Kennedy is the author and founder of Plains Cottage.  She hopes to "Paint Plains Pink" with her enchanted vision.

bmkpublishingusa.com.png
melisa kennedy signature plains cottage
3A4B49BF-0F16-4FC9-A666-6B2FD7E5FC59.JPG
Plains Cottage georgia melisa kennedy
bottom of page